National School of Dance
Music, dance and architecture are in a unique dialectic at today's National School of Dance.
Location
Timeline
Modern and Contemporary era (1821 - )
1932 Beginning of construction.
1934 Completion.
Music, dance and architecture are in a unique dialectic at today's National School of Dance.
Home > Athens > Architecture > Centre > Modern and Contemporary Architecture- Landscape Architecture > National School of Dance
Music, dance and architecture are in a unique dialectic at today’s National School of Dance. The residence and school of the pioneering dance teacher Koula Pratsika was designed by Georgios Kontoleon, a representative of the dynamic generation of the 1920s. Inspired by the minimalism of Adolf Loss, Kontoleon applied a simple plasticity, fully harmonized with its environment and maintained a balance between form, function and construction. It consists of a ground floor and 2 floors. The entrance to the building is through a stone wall. The volume of the building is simple, rectangular, with a reinforced concrete skeleton and has large openings, because Pratsika wanted the space to be bright. Recent restoration and upgrading works have been carried out, while the school’s library is located in a building on the opposite side of the street (Omirou 60) and consists of 1000 journal series and 5000 book titles, all related to dance, theatre, painting, music, philosophy, architecture and other arts.
The design of Kontoleon received enthusiastic comments by architects of the time, including Dimitris Pikionis. Koula Pratsika’s dance school revolutionized dance and its teaching in Greece. Continuing this tradition, the National School of Dance is considered today one of the leading dance schools in the country.
National School of Dance, main page
Last visit 9/8/2025
Technical Chamber of Greece, (2000), Athens, London, Paris, TCG,
http://www.culture2000.tee.gr/ATHENS/GREEK/main2.html
Last visit 9/8/2025
Open House Athens, (2017), Κρατική Σχολή Ορχηστρικής Τέχνης, [National School of Dance], ΟΗΑ
1932 Beginning of construction.
1934 Completion.
Share